Memorial of St. Augustine

Augustine_Lateran

This is a great day, a day of days here at Nunc Stans, for it is the memorial of Blessed Saint Augustine of Hippo, the spiritual father of this blog in many ways (St. Ephrem is also a patron as well, and I am ashamed to say I did not celebrate his memorial properly this year, but will do so in the future).  I will be posting throughout the day excerpts from the great saint’s works in praise of him.  I have in recent years become more and more enamored of the traditions of the East in the Christian world, and would love to come know more intimately the lives the saints from the East, but I consider myself first and foremost a “friend” of St. Augustine, which is why I write under the name “Alypius” though I have nothing sinister to hide.  And so on his feast day I implore the intercession of Blessed Saint Augustine of Hippo, that he may bless my journey toward Christ and the Holy Trinity, that I and all those who seek Him may be filled with the same spirit that made him “take it and read” and turn his life over to Christ, that made confess to the Lord his love for him.  May we all, in our o so much more humble way, be moved to do the same.   Per dominum nostrum Jesum Christum, qui tecum vivit et regnat in unitate Spiritus Sancti, Deus per ominium saecula saeculorum, Amen.

cognoscam te, cognitor meus, cognoscam sicut et cognitus sum. virtus animae meae, intra in eam et coapta tibi, ut habeas et possideas sine macula et ruga. haec est mea spes: ideo loquor et in ea spe gaudeo, quando sanum gaudeo. cetera vero vitae huius tanto minus flenda quanto magis fletur, et tanto magis flenda quanto minus fletur in eis. ecce enim veritatem dilexisti, quoniam qui facit eam venit ad lucem. volo eam facere in corde meo coram te in confessione, in stilo autem meo coram multis testibus.

Let me know Thee, O Lord, who knowest me: let me know Thee, as
I am known. Power of my soul, enter into it, and fit it for Thee,
that Thou mayest have and hold it without spot or wrinkle. This is
my hope, therefore do I speak; and in this hope do I rejoice, when
I rejoice healthfully. Other things of this life are the less to be
sorrowed for, the more they are sorrowed for; and the more to be sorrowed
for, the less men sorrow for them. For behold, Thou lovest the truth,
and he that doth it, cometh to the light. This would I do in my heart
before Thee in confession: and in my writing, before many witnesses.

Confessiones, Bk 10.1

Memorial of St. Augustine of Hippo

~ by Alypius on August 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
