Great and Holy Saturday

Descent of Christ into hell-cattedrale-di-san-marco-venezia-11th-c

Great and Holy Saturday

 

“O life, how can you die?
How can you dwell in a tomb?
Yet by your death you have destroyed the reign of death,
And raised all the dead from hell.”

“I am your God, who for your sake have become your son. Out of love for you and your descendants I now by my own authority command all who are held in bondage to come forth, all who are in darkness to be enlightened, all who are sleeping to arise. I order you, O sleeper, to awake. I did not create you to be held a prisoner in Hell. Rise from the dead, for I am the life of the dead. Rise up, work of my hands, you who were created in my image. Rise, let us leave this place, for you are in me and I in you.”

“I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.”

 

 

From the First Stasis for Holy Saturday (Orthodox Triodion)
From a Homily on Holy Saturday (Office of Readings, Roman Rite)
Psalm 4:8 (Authorized Version)

~ by Alypius on April 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
