An Artist’s Prayer

Dante in Paradise

Dante in Paradise

Posting will be light for the next several months, as the new school year has begun, and I have two new class preps this semester. However, I thought I would share something with my readers, as I am going through the first few weeks of the “Artist’s Way,” the set of exercises designed and made famous by Julia Cameron, for people who want to get in touch with their creativity. Now, if you don’t know anything about it, the book approaches creativity from a spiritual point of view, and one of the exercises she prescribes in week four is to write an “artist’s prayer,” asking the divine force that guides the universe (she is strenuously insistent one doesn’t have to actually believe in any God to do this) to guide your creative process. I must confess, I was a bit skeptical when I started, not about the usefulness of her program but its “spirituality.” I was afraid I would be listening to a lot of New Agey sounding mumbo jumbo, but on the whole most of what she says makes much sense, and is perfectly compatible with the Catholic Christianity I embrace. So, I thought I would share with you my own “artist’s prayer,” which, though it is thoroughly Christian and Trinitarian, I hope may be of some inspiration to you in creative travails.  (Nota bene, I have tried in various way to reproduce the actual line indentations with which I wrote this prayer in MS Word; alas, WordPress seems to have failed me in this regard. But hopefully it will be of some use to readers all the same.)  Pax tecum.

 

Alypius

 

 

 

 

 

An Artist’s Prayer

O Holy  and life giving Trinity,
Father, Son, and Holy Spirit,
I open my lips to praise you,
And offer up my service to your glory,
And to the good of my fellow men.
I pray, O Creator Spirit, to be made one with you,
To be opened to your divine creativity,
To the power that created the sun and moon,
The stars of the sky, the earth and sea
And all the creatures that fill them.
I pray that I may share in your life giving creativity,
And place myself completely in your hands,
Abandoning myself to your gracious mercy.
I renounce the path I have chosen for your sake,
O Creator God, that you may lead me yourself,
According to your steadfast love.
Reveal the pattern of my life, O Lord,
Guided by your holy will, framed by your love,
Not by my narrow sense of self.
Be with me in all my trials, loving Father,
Let me know that I am worthy to be healed,
To have the hope of life fulfilled
In being open to your creative love.
Lead me onward O Lord, to your blessed light—
Nurture me in charity, faith, and hope,
Help me to fight the armies of doubt, fear and despair—
In your mercy, teach me that I am not alone
And that I am worthy to love and be loved.
O blessed and life giving Trinity,
You who sent the Son from the Father
To show mankind the way of salvation,
Show me now the path of your creative love,
That I may create in love what you reveal to me
And my creation become an act of worship to you.
In the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of God,
the Savior,
Through the prayers of the most Holy and Immaculate
Theotokos,
And of all the Saints in light,
Hear me, O Divine Majesty, I pray you—
To the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit,
All praise, and honor, and glory be,
Now and forever.  Amen.

 

~ by Alypius on September 6, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
